Yekatrinburg, Yekatrinburg District, Sverdlovsk Oblast (Siberia)

Includes the following communities: 
Sverdlovsk, Sverdlovsk Oblast (Siberia)
Ekaterinburg, Ekatrerinburg District, Sverdlovsk Oblast (Siberia)
Yekatrinburg, Yekatrinburg District, Sverdlovsk Oblast (Siberia)
Екатеринбург, Екатеринбург район, Свердловская Oбласть
Свердловск, Свердловская Oбласть

Yekaterinburg, alternatively spelled as Ekaterinburg, was founded on 18 November 1723.  It was named after Catherine, the wife of Peter the Great.

In 1924, the name was changed to Sverdlovsk in honor of the Communist party leader Yakov Sverdlov.  Following the collapse of the Soviet Union, the name was changed back to Yekaterinburg in 1991.

After the deportation of the Volga Germans in 1941, many Volga German families moved to the city of Sverdlovsk. Today, most Volga German descendants who had been living there have immigrated to Germany.

Volga German Families: 

The following Volga German families are known to have settled in and around Yekatrinburg:

Dieser from Josefstal
Kindsvater from Dietel
Krening from Walter

Volga Colonies: 

Pre-Volga Origin

Volga Colonies

Latitude: 49.509595
Longitude: 8.179546