Baku (South Caucasus)

Includes the following communities: 
Baku (South Caucasus)
Baku, Azerbaijan

This documented history of Baku dates back to the Roman Era of the 1st Century A.D. It is located in the South Causasus.

Following the Russo-Persian War (1804-1813), most of the territory of both the North and South Caucasus was ceeded to Russia. The first oil distilling operation began on the Absheron Peninsula in 1837, and since then oil has been a substantial part of the political and economic history of the region.

With the collapse of the Soviet Union, Baku became the capital of the independent country of Azerbaijan.

Volga German Families: 

The following Volga German families settled in and around Baku:

Maul from Schilling
Schilling from Schilling
Spahn from Streckerau

Volga Colonies: 

Pre-Volga Origin

Volga Colonies

Latitude: 49.111723
Longitude: 8.985511
Latitude: 49.800953
Longitude: 8.737844